Flaunt Weekly
HomeEntertainmentEleven developers face ban over Gove’s building safety contracts
Eleven developers face ban over Gove’s building safety contracts

Eleven developers face ban over Gove’s building safety contracts

Around 49 firms signed a pledge last year to remediate fire-safety defects in buildings over 11 metres that they developed or refurbished over the last 30 years in England.

But as the 13 March deadline to sign legally-binding contracts passed yesterday around a fifth of firms had still not signed.

Today housing and levelling up secretary Michael Gove warned those firms that he would be coming after them.

Publishing lists today of both developers that had and had not signed, the Government reiterated that eligible developers that refused to comply faced significant consequences such as being banned from the market.

Developers that have yet to sign the contract:

1. Abbey Developments
2. Avant
3. Ballymore
4. Dandara
5. Emerson Group (Jones Homes)
6. Galliard Homes
7. Inland Homes
8. Lendlease
9. London Square
10. Rydon Homes
11. Telford Homes

Developers that have signed the contract:

1. Allison Homes Group
2. Barratt Developments
3. Bellway
4. The Berkeley Group
5. Bewley Group
6. Bloor Investments
7. The British Land Company
8. Cala Group (Holdings)
9. Canary Wharf Group
10. C.G. Fry and Son
11. Churchill Retirement
12. Crest Nicholson Holdings
13. Croudace Homes Group
14. Fairview Holdings
15. Frasers Property (UK)
16. MJ Gleeson
17. Grosvenor Group
18. Hill Holdings
19. Hopkins Home Group
20. Jelson Holdings
21. Keepmoat
22. Land Securities Group
23. Lifestory Holdings  (also covers Anthology Group)
24. McCarthy & Stone
25. Miller Homes
26. Morgan Sindall Group (parent company for Lovell and Muse)
27. Morris Homes Group
28. Persimmon
29. Redrow
30. Rowland Group
31. Sorbon Group (parent company for Shanly Homes)
32. St Modwen Group
33. Story Homes
34. Strata Homes Group
35. Taylor Wimpey
36. Tilia Homes
37. Vistry Group
38. Weston Group
39. William Davis Homes

Developers that signed the pledge but were later found not to have buildings within scope:

1. Davidsons
2. MacTaggart & Mickel
3. Robertson
4. Wain Homes

Gove said:“I have been clear all along – those that are responsible for this crisis must pay.

“So, I am grateful to those developers who have done the right thing today by signing this legally binding contract.

“For those developers that have taken responsibility, today offers the chance for a reset, so we can get on and build more of the safe, decent and affordable homes we so desperately need.

“To those developers that have failed to sign the contract without good reason, let me be very clear – we are coming after you.

“If you do not sign, you will not be able to operate freely in the housing market. Your investors will see that your business model is broken – only responsible developers are welcome here.”

The remediation contract requires developers to fix buildings and reimburse taxpayers, with an estimated £2bn expected to be committed to fund repairs.

Legislation will be brought forward this spring introducing powers to prevent developers from operating freely in the housing market if they fail to sign and comply with the remediation contract.

Under this legislation, a Responsible Actors Scheme (RAS) will be created, allowing the housing secretary to block developers who have not signed the contract or failed to comply with its terms from carrying out development and from receiving building control approval.

This will prevent them from operating as normal in the housing market for as long as they do not resolve the problems of the past.

The contract, which has been drawn up by the Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities, is designed to protect thousands of leaseholders living in hundreds of buildings across England.

Read More

David Carroll

David Carroll is a Journalist at Flaunt Weekly.

Magazine made for you.